Hard boiled eggs with five spices

finsihF
It is difficult to give the name of this dish in English, but it is called “Khai Pha-lo (ไข่พะโล้)” in Thai. Many Thai people grow up with this menu. It is so easy to cook, not spicy and has a slightly sweet, light flavour, which may be the reason why all children like it.

I loved this dish so much when I was young, but some point in my life I stopped eating it. But today, after I skyped with my mom, I thought of the “Khai Pha-lo” that she always cooked for me. I prepared this dish for the first time today and I think this recipe is good, even it is not the same as my mom’s.

Next time I will ask for her recipe, and will compare it with mine!!! 😉

*The original Khai Pha-Lo uses a pork belly instead of chicken pieces, but I can not find it today in the shop.
===============================================================================================================

INGREDIENTS

ingredient

(Serves 4)

+ Chicken pieces (wings, drumsticks, thighs, …) 450 g. (in total)
+ Deep-fried tofu 250 g.
+ Boiled eggs 4
+ Dried shiitake mushroom (medium size) 5

+ Garlic 5 cloves
+ Ground black pepper 1/2 tsp.
+ Ground coriander seed 1/2 tsp. (or 3 broken coriander roots)

+ Cinnamon stick 2
+ Star anise 4
+ Palm sugar 30 g. (2 tbsp.)
+ Soy sauce 2 tbsp.
+ Salt 1/2 tsp.
+ Chocolate powder 1 tbsp.
===============================================================================================================

STEP BY STEP
1. Clean dried Shiitake mushroom with running water, place in a bowl and cover with 1 litre of boiling water, stand for 20 mins.
2. In a small bowl, crush the garlic and mix with pepper and ground coriander.
prepare1
3. Cut the deep-fried tofu into dices, about 2x2cm.
prepare2
4. Drain the mushrooms from soaking water, reserve the soaked water. Discard stems and cut into four quarters.
prepare3
5. Heat a non-stick sauce pan, place the chicken pieces, skin side down, cook until the both sides of the chicken pieces are browned. Set them aside.
cook1
6. In the sauce pan, add the mixed garlic, pepper and ground coriander and stir until fragrant. Add the palm sugar and cook until it becomes caramelized.
cook2
7. Place the chicken pieces back in the pan, pour the soaked water and add all ingredients. Cover and let it simmer for 30 mins.
cook3
8. Add the chocolate powder and let it continue to simmer for at least 15 mins.
cook4

Serve with steamed rice.
finishE

—Enjoy cooking and eating! 😀

One thought on “Hard boiled eggs with five spices

Leave a comment